Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

I would recommend this book to anyone that is looking for :

  • A quick read, this book has very short chapters which is great if you want to read quickly and stay motivated.
  • This book is something that I would recommend to someone that wants to get out of a reading slump. It is not a difficult read and the story really flows and it has only 306 pages (excluding acknowledgments etc..)
  • This book will be a great introducer to someone that would like to have a go at YA- Fiction – Contemporary. It is in it’s on cute way a story about love, but at the same time not cheesy at all ! It will keep you on your toes the entire time.
  • Someone who just wants to relax, drink some tea and get hooked on a tale of adventure, love, many more emotions and witness someone taking a risk that will change their life forever.

 

I want to start about this book by talking about the really nice cover it has. I purchased the hardback version (love hardbacks too much) and the book’s sleeve feels really nice and smooth- I love it. The book is not intimidatingly thick for readers that are beginners (yay go for it newbies!). As soon as I opened the book and flipped through the first pages I smiled, there is a quote from my favourite book called The little prince (book review available here on my blog :3 !). The quote is this: ‘’Here is my secret. It’s quite simple: One sees clearly only with the heart. Anything essential is invisible to the eyes.’’ – Antoine de Saint-Exupery, The Little Prince.  (sorry for the not so good photo)

 

Kim's Bookshelf (2)

I instantly like this book.  

I was also completely smitten with all the cute minimalist illustrations the book has here and there along the way. There are illustrations to show the reader an email inbox screen, doodles from Maddy, instant messaging conversations and loads more cute stuff… If you are a visual person (like me !) you will love these little touches.

 

Kim's Bookshelf (1).png

There is also a movie trailer that I have come across for this book, I have not seen the movie but I have to be honest, the trailer made me tear up a little. Now I know how most of us book lovers feel about the movies about books that we have read…some enjoy watching the movie after, some of us don’t. I have to be honest, I am one of those that tries to remain as loyal to the book as much as I can, imagining is so much better for me ! But it is also hard to not watch the movie sometimes (my curiosity is very hard to control). I always think of the Harry Potter series when I think about this debate. I have read all the books (3 times haha) and have even seen the movies a trillion times haha ! But it’s hard to beat those movie remakes in my opinion…they rock !. But anyway 🙂 I wasn’t sure if I should share the youtube link to the trailer on here, wanted to ask you guys about it. So what do you think ? Should I share the link  or would it be too much of a spoiler? Let me know in the comments 🙂

About the story. Wow this book, so many emotions went through me reading it. Madeline Whittier our main character here, is an 18 year old girl that has NEVER been outside. Can you imagine ? When I first read it in the book it made me really think how sad that was but Madeline is a very optimistic girl, she didn’t miss the outside. Wanna know why? Because she never experienced it. She was used to her home and her really sweet nurse Carla (who is totally my favourite character) and of course her mom slash official doctor.

Madeline has a very rare illness that makes her allergic to everything. Yup, you read that right, everything, everything. It could be a new fabric or the the grass or the rain or tasting new food or just breathing the outside air. When I was reading the book in the very beginning I really felt sorry for this girl, but her personality rocks. She’s a bookworm (how can I not like her?), she spends a lot of quality time with her mum playing games and they always think of something fun to do daily (inside obviously !) to keep the days going and to keep any depressions away. Her mom constantly monitors her vitals every hour, it’s that serious.

This ‘’system’’ was all working smooth like butter, up until everything changes again.

A new family moves over next door to Madeline. As every person stuck inside would do, she went to her window to see who they were. You know, observe them, get a good look.

That’s when she saw him. That is the point where this story gets good. (don’t worry I’m not gonna spoil it ! 😛 )

This book will take you onto the sweetest story ever. His name was Olly, he and Madeline eventually spot each other from their bedroom windows and begin to find creative ways to communicate and start to slowly know eachother. The story becomes beautiful from then on. I especially enjoyed reading the parts where Maddy (Madeline) describes how her relationship with her mother changes when she befriends Olly. It was described in a very realistic way how sometimes Maddy would be torn apart about wanting to spend more time instant messaging with the boy of her dreams rather than her mum, the woman whom has been taking care of her since birth. I really understood Maddy and what she was feeling during this time. Like wanting to split into two. It is part of growing up of course, but keep in mind how this was all so very extremely new to her. She felt guilty for wanting to spend time with someone else other than her mom but she knew how much she loved her mom. So why was she feeling like that? She thinks to herself.

Friendship with Olly evolves into much more and the story is written so sweetly, it’s a total page turner. You’re not gonna want to stop reading this book, I’m telling you I read it in a day haha. I was so hooked.

But how can you love someone you can’t touch ? Or go outside with ?  Or share a kiss with ?

But the greatest risk is not taking one. Yeah, risks will be taken here and your suspense will go from zero to 100 in a second while reading this book.

How far will Madeline and Olly go to be with each other ? Check out the book if you wanna find out 🙂 .

Also, this book was shockingly unpredictable. From what I wrote above you might think that I’m nuts for calling it that, but I promise you that you will be surprised like I was. Seriously, it has a twist that I REALLY REALLY did not see coming. It made me feel a mix of emotions (not going to state what they are because you might guess and I spoil it for you).

Check it out !

I’m sure you can tell that I enjoyed this book very much ( 😛 )

About the author : Nicola Yoon

Nicola Yoon grew up in Jamaica (the island) and Brooklyn (part of Long Island). She currently resides in Los Angeles, CA with her husband and daughter, both of whom she loves beyond all reason. Everything, Everything is her first novel.

Thank you for reading, I hope that you enjoyed my post. Please share your opinions/comments in the comments section !

As always, peace :3

Kim :3

Want to use a site for buying books that has FREE SHIPPING WORLDWIDE ? Check out this link below ! 🙂 A free official bookdepository bookmark is given with every book!!!! They are super fun to collect ! (I do haha!)

http://www.bookdepository.com/?a_aid=kimsbookshelf

9 thoughts on “Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

  1. I loved this book and it stands pride of place on my bookshelf, I thought it was really inspiring and made me contemplate many things in my life. It was a great book and it really got me hooked I’m so glad to see you liked it too 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for taking the time to read my post. I totally agree, this book is brilliant in so many ways, once I picked it up I could not put it down haha !

      I loved it.

      Thank you for reading and commenting ! I love it when I get responses ❤

      Peace x

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Glad you loved this book Kim. 🙂 Unfortunately, I didnt have the same experience while reading it, maybe because of my age. Haha. But the illustrations were very cute and Nicola Yoon’s writing was very addicting.

    Looking forward to more reviews from you. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I just finished reading this book and I absolutely adored it! The romance the grows between Maddy and Clay, and that, in essence, heals Maddy, was at the same time gripping and heartwarming. It was such a page turner that by the end, I felt like I read it too fast and now I’m left wanting more – haha.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

